Skip to content

A pilgrim’s journey to the Great Better

April 29, 2009
After a while you learn
The subtle difference
Between holding a hand
And chaining a soul.
And you learn
That love doesn’t mean leaning
And company doesn’t mean security.
And you begin to learn
That kisses aren’t compromise
And presents aren’t promises.
And you begin to accept your defeats
With your head up and your eyes ahead
With the grace of a woman or a man
Not the grief of a child.
And you learn to build all your loads on today
Because tomorrow’s ground is too uncertain for plans
And futures have a way of falling down in midflight.
And after a while you learn
That even sunshine burns if you ask too much.
So you plant your own garden
And decorate your own soul
Instead of waiting for someone to buy you flowers.
And you learn
That you really can endure
That you really are strong
And you really do have worth.
And you learn.
And you learn.
With every failure you learn.

Anonymous

clipped from heartsteps.org

Who I am is immaterial. Anonymous will do. I’ve been on the planet for over 60-years, put here for the purpose of learning forgiveness. I have a long way to go, but I try and constantly work on it because I must learn it this time around. Nonetheless, I have much to improve as I lean into the shady time. Now gratitude fills every day. Eons ago, I read a wonderful message called “the Rules for Being Human”. The last rule was number ten that stated, “You will forget all this.” Indeed I did. It’s never too late though. This blog is my hook for working through a daily spiritual practice; a journal, breadcrumbs to mark my progress. Daily readings, meditations, prayers, evocations that I stumble upon along the road that remind me to stay on the path.

clipped from heartsteps.org

whole

Becoming Whole

earth

Earth Praises

We are the earth.
We are the air.
We are fire
We are water.
All of us are only one living being, and we come from the same place. There is no difference between any of us; we are the same.

don
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

